New Jersey child support laws ensure that children receive financial support from both parents. The state Child Support Enforcement Agency establishes a legal child support order and administers enforcement of the order.
Whether you are facing divorce or you never married your child’s other parent, you can request child support services through the state.
Apply for services
Parents can apply for services at their county child support office or online. The application requires a $6 fee for each service unless you receive public assistance from the state. Child support services may include the following:
- Locating the parent who does not have custody
- Establishing legal paternity
- Establishing a child support order
- Monitoring and enforcing the order
Attend a hearing
When you submit a complete application, the court clerk schedules a hearing and notifies the other parent. At this hearing, the judge will establish a child support order with the monthly amount based on the average monthly expenditure per child in the state, parenting time allocation and the income of both parents.
The child support process in New Jersey usually takes 90 days. However, it can take longer if the other parent lives out of state. You may need to go through his or her state of residence for assistance.
When the court establishes a child support order, the noncustodial parent must send monthly payments to the state Family Division. He or she can arrange for payments to be withheld from regular wages or pay by check or money order. The custodial parent will receive the payment within two business days of receipt by the agency.
Late or partial payments result in enforcement by the state. This could include wage garnishment, negative credit reporting and seizure of assets, tax refunds or lottery winnings.
Both parents can track payments and view case information at the state website. New Jersey orders child support until a child turns 19, marries, becomes emancipated or enlists in military service.